Roasted Eggplant Tomato Soup

20130610-082721.jpg
I found this Roasted Eggplant Soup recipe from Blogging Over Thyme, and decided I could pretty much make it from what I had on hand – although I desperately need to go grocery shopping!

Here’s how it went down:
– The recipe calls for 2 eggplants, cut in half, rubbed with toasted ground cumin and olive oil, roasted at 400*f for ~25 minutes.

I had some already-chopped eggplant that didn’t make it into my Eggplant Pineapple Sauté, which may have been the equivalent of half an eggplant. I’m also out of olive oil AGAIN! So I used coconut.

– The recipe says to sweat 1 large onion in olive oil and add 4-5 stalks of celery and cook til soft.

I had the wimpy center of a thing of celery from my bone broth, and halves of dried out red and white onion (and coconut oil). Fine, make-do.

– Then you add in diced canned tomatoes, the eggplant, chicken stock to cover, fresh thyme, cilantro, salt, pepper, cayenne.

I had a can of fire-roasted tomatoes with green chilies – I decided to only add half a can because of how little eggplant I had. For chicken broth I used my homemade soup stock. And I used dried thyme and coriander.

– Cook that at a low simmer for ~20 minutes, immersion-blend it, and voila! I garnished mine with avocado – both because it’s pretty, and because its delicious.

So how did it turn out? Well, really good! I think with the eggplant ratio such as it was, I might have used less celery, as the end celery taste was pretty strong. And I think the green chilies in the fire-roasted tomatoes are weird – I would recommend using regular fire-roasted or diced. Otherwise, totally amazing. Roasted eggplant is delicious in every form.

20130610-082728.jpg