Easy Bean Dip

20130204-184246.jpg
I’m convinced this dip can be made with any bean, as the original recipe from Lemons and Anchovies called for cannelini beans, but all I had was pinto. I realized last minute that my friend’s housewarming party was a pot luck and just kind of threw this together. So in addition to substituting a different kind of bean, I also substituted coconut oil for olive (I had run out of olive!) and I didn’t have a lemon or lemon juice so I used apple cider vinegar – I figured that one acid would work in place of the other, and it did!

So here’s the very precise formula: A can of any bean, a spoonful of tahini, a clove of garlic, a sprinkle of salt and paprika (to taste), a splash of whatever acid, and a generous pour of any oil! Immersion-blend it all together, throw it in a tupperware, grab a bag of chips, and party-ready!!